May 11, 2012

  • O Day of Rest & Gladness

    This was my things to do list for today:

    - do laundry
    - go to the bank
    - drop off recycled goods
    - take boys to the library
    - buy pet food
    - go grocery shopping
    - fill the bird feeders
    - read to the boys
    - go running (in the backyard)
    - tidy up the yard
    - clean the house for Sabbath

    And all this was on top of the normal daily grind.  I’m thankful that we were able to get everything done.  It was more difficult because I had to bring the boys with me everywhere since Israel is out of town.  Once we left the house to run errands, they had to get in and out of the car 5 times.  I must say that they were champs today.  After the final errand, I decided to treat the boys so we picked up some dinner and headed over to a local park.  After two hours of playing frozen tag (-and according to the boys’ rules, somehow I am always “it” no matter what), we spent some time by the rushing river, and then headed home.  We had worship and then spent some time talking with Israel over the phone.  (He is in Colorado for GYC Board meetings.)  I put the boys to bed and then I took the most magnificent shower.  Now, I am ready to fully embrace the Sabbath and all that it entails.   

    After six days of truly legit work and labor, I can see how someone would be inspired to write an entire song dedicated to one day of the week.  I completely can resonate with these words:  

    O day of rest and gladness,
    O day of joy and light,
    O balm of care and sadness,
    Most beautiful, most bright,
    On thee the high and lowly
    Before th’ eternal throne
    Sing, “Holy, holy, holy,”
    To the great Three in One.


    Thou art a port protected
    From storms that round us rise;
    A garden intersected
    With streams of paradise;
    Thou art a cooling fountain
    In life’s dry dreary sand;
    From thee, like Pisgah’s mountain,
    We view our promised land.


    A day of sweet reflection
    Thou art, a day of love,
    A day to raise affection
    From earth to things above.
    New graces ever gaining
    From this our day of rest,
    We seek the rest remaining
    To mansions of the blest.

    - Christopher Wordsworth, 1862

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *